Sacred Texts  Legends and Sagas  Lang Fairy Books  Index  Previous  Next 

The Violet Fairy Book, by Andrew Lang, [1901], at



A Tale of the Tontlawald

The finest Liar in the World

The Story of three Wonderful Beggars


The Three Princes and their Beasts

The Goat's Ears of the Emperor Trojan

The Nine Pea-hens and the Golden Apples

The Lute Player

The Grateful Prince

The Child who came from an Egg

Stan Bolovan

The Two Frogs

The Story of a Gazelle

How a Fish Swam in the Air and a Hare in the Water

Two in a Sack

The Envious Neighbour

The Fairy of the Dawn

The Enchanted Knife

Jesper who herded the Hares

The Underground Workers

The History of Dwarf Long Nose

The Nunda, Eater of People

The Story of Hassebu

The Maiden with the Wooden Helmet

The Monkey and the Jelly-fish

The Headless Dwarfs

The young Man who would have his Eyes opened

The Boys with the Golden Stars

The Frog

The Princess who was hidden Underground

The Girl who pretended to be a Boy

The Story of Halfman

The Prince who wanted to see the World

Virgililus the Sorcerer

Mogarzea and his Son

Next: Preface