Sacred Texts  Buddhism  Wisdom of the East  Index  Previous  Next 

Buddhist Scriptures, by E.J. Thomas, [1913], at

p. 52



The first five of these commandments—not to take life, not to steal, not to commit unchastity, not to tell lies, not to drink intoxicants—are binding on all laymen. The whole ten are binding on the brotherhood, and in their case the third rule means absolute celibacy. But the pious layman may take upon himself three more in addition to the first five. Those three—not eating after noon, not witnessing dancing, shows, and plays, not using ornaments, scents, and unguents—are usually taken on the fast-days, and are only binding for the day on which they are assumed. Details as to the rules and organization of the Order will be found in The Way of the Buddha of Mr. H. Baynes in the same series as the present volume.

1. Abstinence from destroying life.

2. Abstinence from taking what is not given.

3. Abstinence from unchastity.

4. Abstinence from falsehood.

5. Abstinence from spirituous liquors, strong drink, intoxicants, which are a cause of negligence.

6. Abstinence from eating at the wrong time [i.e. after noon].

7. Abstinence from looking at dancing, singing, music, and plays.

p. 53

8. Abstinence from wearing garlands, scents, unguents, ornaments, and adornments, which are a cause of negligence.

9. Abstinence from a high or large bed.

10. Abstinence from accepting gold and silver. (Khuddaka Pāṭha, 2.)

Next: IX. The Fire Discourse